User Avatar Image

What in the holy hell is DirectX?

posted by roberttitus on - last edited - Viewed by 292 users

I just got a new laptop today & decided to redownload SBCGFAP only for it to tell me that the game wouldn't work right unless I downloaded Direct X. I did of course, but I'm not sure I should have. I mean this is a somewhat new laptop so I might have an updated version or something already on it right?

22 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • Don't worry about it. DirectX is smart enough to not let you downgrade without telling you. basically DirectX is the gubbins that run the graphics under Winders

• I'm no expert, but sometimes games insist you download an older version to work the game. It doesn't overwrite the newer version as far as I know... but hopefully someone who knows more than me will be able to help more...

• Usually when you install a telltale game, they ask if you want to check your Direct X, and install the update.

• Even if it does overwrite any newer game will auto update it for you.
    Problem is some games only work with older versions of DirectX because newer versions can change stuff around.

• I'm surprised you are unfamiliar with DirectX, as it has been pretty much required for gaming on Windows PCs for almost 15 years. :p

• I've never encountered a game that required older DirectX versions to run.

Sure, old DX5 games can disfunction, but that's more probably because of Vista/XP/7 or modern graphic cards/drivers than DirectX.

^ EDIT: Obviously roberttitus is a console player...

• I'm pretty sure many versions of DirectX can exist simultaneously on a Windows install, and it's required for some older games or games which desire to be compatible with older computers.

• @SHODANFreeman said: I'm surprised you are unfamiliar with DirectX, as it has been pretty much required for gaming on Windows PCs for almost 15 years. :p

@SHODANFreeman said: Obviously roberttitus is a console player...

Obviously.