User Avatar Image

National Novel Writing Month

posted by Shwoo on - last edited - Viewed by 429 users

For those who don't know: National Novel Writing Month is a yearly challenge in which participants write at least 50,000 words of a story in November.

Anyone else doing it this year? The forums just came back up, so I'm excited. Last year was the first year I succeeded and properly enjoyed myself, and I'm hoping to succeed again.

Don't know what I'm writing about yet, exactly. I have a setting, and it's science fiction themed, but I don't really have a plot or characters.

99 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • I think this came as something that basically would be my calling.

But I really need to think about this. And with thinking I'm not talking about the subject. I'm thinking about time management.

EDIT: Screw this, this is a once in a year chance. I'm a god damn author!

Also, I absolutely have no idea what I'm going to write, and quite frankly, I only want to know on day one.

• 50,000 words in 30 days is 1,667 words a day. I can do that in one or two hours when I'm not worrying about the quality of the writing, so it doesn't take up too much time a day.

Some people have written a million words in November, but I don't know how they managed that.

• My problem is time management conflicting with me not thinking I'm good enough. Luckily, I always have great ideas.

You know, the only thing that I'm not sure about is whether I should write in English or Dutch.

• The whole point of NaNo is to get you writing whether you think you're good enough or not, so you're not the only one.

I'm definitely planning out some characters and a general plot. I tried coming up with it as I went along, and it... didn't work.