User Avatar Image

Serious subjects in video games?

posted by philpou on - last edited - Viewed by 93 users

Hello,

i'm studying sociology and working on a thesis about video games, i would like to know if you think vidéo games can deal with serious subjects. as an exemple, i'm using Global Conflicts : Latin America, which is an adventure game about serious issues in Latin America. I think it's quite good in its genre but 'im not an expert of adventure games. you can try the demo without downloading it on :

http://www.globalconflicts.eu/gcla/demo/

i contacted the company to know if i can use the game for my work and they agreed. they say the game is designed for learning purpose.

please let any comment about it, it can be helpfull for my work.

16 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • You should ask 4chan's /b/ board

• It wanted me to install some program that I didn't care for the name of. But anyway, if the game is anything like the intro video, then it has a very populist spin. Learning purposes? Yeah, right. (that's just my inner cynic about all politics coming out)

• Absolutely serious subjects can be dealt with in games. But all games, whether educational or simply casual time-wasters, need to have enjoyable gameplay. I think one of the main reasons learning games don't do well is because they're promoted as just that--educational. People will lose interest quickly if they feel they're being preached at.

• I don't know if I'm starting to get a bit paranoid, but I'm sure this is a spambot.

One time poster, linking to an obscure site, and I don't think they've been back since they posted. Well disguised, but unless they want to put me straight on this themselves, I don't think they're for real.

• @Badwolf said: I don't know if I'm starting to get a bit paranoid, but I'm sure this is a spambot.