User Avatar Image

How much am I missing?

posted by Wusodoolo on - last edited - Viewed by 343 users

When I started playing this series, I had neither played nor known anything about the whole Monkey Island series beyond the fact that the main character is named Guybrush Threepwood. As I've been playing, I've been able to understand any jokes that are not referencing other Monkey Island games. I also made sure to look up characters i knew nothing about when they were introduced (Murray and Stan.) I also looked up and now understand the "insult sword fighting" and the whole "you fight like a cow" gag. But I gotta wonder: is there still a ton of hilarious jokes that i am missing because I have never played the other games? Or can I keep playing without worrying that I am missing out on most of the game because of it? Thanks in advance.

42 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • You do miss a lot of subtle references and disguised references.

Also, you're missing out on some really good, quality adventure games.

• You've got the major ones down, I think. There may be a few minor things like the "A Pirate I Was Meant to Be" song from Curse of Monkey Island being played in DeCava's hut, but I can't really think of too many beyond that.

I agree with RD though, you are missing out on some quality games

• @Rather Dashing said: You do miss a lot of subtle references and disguised references.

Also, you're missing out on some really good, quality adventure games.

Trust me, if I ever get the chance, I will get any Monkey Island game I can get my hands on.

• Yeah play the old ones for sure they are worth it... I kind of envy you in a way.... Imagine if you could play all the old games for the first time while waiting for the next episode.

• Now, how would I get around to getting those old games? I don't THINK I have any of the stuff wikipedia says the first game was released on, but I'm terrible with computer words, so I may be just missing something.