User Avatar Image

How much am I missing?

posted by Wusodoolo on - last edited - Viewed by 391 users

When I started playing this series, I had neither played nor known anything about the whole Monkey Island series beyond the fact that the main character is named Guybrush Threepwood. As I've been playing, I've been able to understand any jokes that are not referencing other Monkey Island games. I also made sure to look up characters i knew nothing about when they were introduced (Murray and Stan.) I also looked up and now understand the "insult sword fighting" and the whole "you fight like a cow" gag. But I gotta wonder: is there still a ton of hilarious jokes that i am missing because I have never played the other games? Or can I keep playing without worrying that I am missing out on most of the game because of it? Thanks in advance.

42 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • @bobdevis said: MI4 - People don't like this one that much and it may be hard to get it running on a modern computer. Very skippable.

I actually got it running natively on Vista. If I remember correctly, it only required a new launcher that a fan site has hosted somewhere. I could find it, probably.

I don't think it's as skippable as a lot of people say(that is, I consider it as skippable as Curse, which I don't like nearly as much as a lot of people, while not hating Escape nearly as much as a lot of people).

• @bobdevis said: Why don't you just play the old games first? You are kind of spoiling the old MI games for yourself by reading the back-story.
    Playing ToMI without knowledge of the old games is fine, but why would you want to skip the classics?

MI1 - Special Edition(with voice and high rez grfx) on sale on Steam. It's a must!
    MI2 - ScummVM (googe it) will run it for you. Only skip it if you dislike the lack of voices.
    MI3 - ScummVM will run it. A must!