User Avatar Image

Over 50 puzzles?!

posted by Ezny on - last edited - Viewed by 950 users

Wow, that sounds like a lot, considering it's only one episode. At least at this point.

I'm starting to get a little excited for Puzzle Agent now.

I wonder how many hours of gameplay will episode one generally have? Is it going to be around the 6-hour area like most TT games? Or maybe a bit longer, considering over 50 puzzles... ?

114 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • and some puzzles have to be redrawn

• @GinnyN said: And some puzzle even has to be replaced because those were too Japanese. Professor Layton is really HARD to translate, far I know T_T

It uses a lot of kanji. I started playing "Layton Koujou to Saigo no Jikan Ryouko" (I know i've spelt that wrong) and I got stuck at the first puzzle. I could get most of the dialogue, Luke gets a letter from himself from ten years in the future, there's a joke about time travelling mailmen, and then Luke and Layton go to some demonstration of a time machine.

And then the puzzle starts. You have to put this guy on one specific table, and there;s like 20, and it's a riddle. And it's designed to be wordy for japanese people, so I just went BLEHHHHHH and gave up. Same sorta thing happened with "Layton Kyojou to Majin no Fue", I gave up on that one.

• When reading through this thread i strongly hope that the puzzles feel less artificial and are more natural integrated than in Professor Layton. I prefer more a real adventure instead of a scenario where just a certain number of puzzles are thrown into with only some wannabe connection.

Considering all the puzzles in magazines it's quite interesting that it took some time until something like Layton showed up.