User Avatar Image

BTTF - Limiting Framerate

posted by AlteredTomorrow on - last edited - Viewed by 993 users

I need to know if there's a way in-game to turn on vertical sync, or more importantly, use some kind of console command to limit the framerate.

The game runs spectacularly on my computer, but after a short time it overheats and crashes so I need to find some way to limit the framerate.

Thanks!

20 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • @DjNDB said:

Either way, you could try reducing it's speed and especially voltage.

Could you tell me how I might go about doing that?

• User Avatar Image
    DjNDB Moderator

@AlteredTomorrow said: Could you tell me how I might go about doing that?

If and how it's possible depends on the hardware and operating system. I am not an expert on this though.
    Using windows power plans is one way to limit the CPU performance. I herard about special tools too, such as RMClock, some years ago, but i don't know if there are any compatible with todays CPUs.

For the graphics card ATITool might be an option.

You'll have to do some research yourself though to find a good solution for your system.

• @DjNDB said: That would increase the load on the graphics chip of course, and in turn produce more heat in the GPU.

Not necessarily, his problem is not stress on the GPU, but the frame-rate.

It may help it may not, there's only one way to find out.

@DjNDB said: How do you suggest I sort it out? I'm open to any suggestions.

As I posted earlier, use real-time monitoring programs and find out exactly what's happening.

Once you know that, then you can decide on what to do.

• I've used a benchmarking tool once and I believe that as soon as my card temp hits 100 degrees my computer will just shut down to prevent damage, no matter what.

• how do clean your laptop? just surface and stuff or are you really cleaning the fan(s) and the colling ribs with compressed air??