User Avatar Image

Which is the best Monkey Island game so far?

posted by presidentmax on - last edited - Viewed by 4.3K users

Since Tales of Monkey Island is now complete and can be viewed as a full 5th game i was curious what everyones opinion is on their favourite monkey island game so far?

86 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • @coolsome said: Yh with the long absence between EMI and Tales everyone's pretty much managed to play them all over and over. The only "noobs" are probably people who started on TMI but with the SE's its easyer to catch up.

True, there's not really many 'noobs' any more. I played MI2 in 96, so I've been playing for 15 years now (NOOO!!!! I'M OLD!) but by Stareyes definition of a noob, I'd still be a noob as I didn't play MI2 the year it came out and didn't start with MI1.

The way I see it, people are entitled to think what they want, so who cares if someone thinks EMI is the best? Sure I personally don't agree, but that doesn't mean EMI shouldn't be their favourite.

• I never intended "noob" as some kind of insult (more of a tongue-in-cheek), just that I would divide Monkey Islands fans into (at least) two catagories. Those that have been one since the beginning of the franchise, and those who are introduced later, which would often be CMI because it was around that time when gaming seriously hit massmarket (thanks to the success of the Sony Playstation).

Maybe if people would stop reading on forums with such a defensive stance and cynicism, they wouldn't feel so offended by non-offensive posts. I had no agenda with my post, only throwing out a theory that I still holds some water. I never said falling into either of the catagories was right or wrong. I never said "you started playing MI long after I did, you dumb noob, lol, your opinion doesn't count!", or anything like that.

God, I hate the internet.

/facepalm