User Avatar Image

The "whatever's on your mind" thread

posted by GuruGuru214 on - last edited - Viewed by 200.9K users

One of the things that's great about this forum is its randomness. Well, this is the epitome of it: a thread for whatever random thought happens to be passing through your mind.

For example, I've just been struck by the most random craving for Taco Bell nachos.

38.4K Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • LIFE is effing good. I'm sitting here, listening to music, watching the wind blow the trees, working on my research. Perfect day.

• @Secret Fawful said: So, yeah. Nintendo made their first Mario adventure game. This just goes to show- anything can be an adventure game.

Sonic? Street Fighter?

• @GaryCXJk said: Okay, I really want to get into AGS, mainly to make my platform point & click game. But I'm as lazy as a programmer. Coincidentally, I am a programmer.

You see what puts me off is not the actual making of the game, but the assets and the design. Designing all the areas, the levels, the puzzles, and then all the art work and characters. I start but I normally stop because I get distracted by something.

Needless to say I have A LOT of empty Game Maker files over the years that stop at the exact same point.
    (I work out a few basic mechanics, a few sprites, and then nothing...)

Infact, the only time I ever got remotely close was a project built from an asteriods example. (I basically kept building on the example. Replacing sprites and creating enemies and behaviours from examples as I went along drawing doodles of ships and enemies).

Man... I should give myself a project to do. All these ideas I keep sitting on. I should just take one and go with it. Or just make something simple. Try to apply the Visual Storytelling stuff I got from that free book.

(Maybe set myself some limitations to work around like I dunno:
    - Player can only move diagonally
    or
    - Can only have a maximum of 5 mechanics