User Avatar Image

windows 8? -not very tech savvy-

posted by ohioisonfire on - last edited - Viewed by 439 users

I have an HP laptop and I am using windows 8 64bit. I am attempting to download The Walking Dead Game onto my laptop, because I was informed that the game was compatible with windows 8. Whilst trying to download the game, things got very complicated and I'm not quite sure what to do. I have to have an Xbox Live account, in order to download and play it off of the app store? Is it not compatible on my laptop? I would really like some advice, I am not very tech savvy at all and enjoy the game.

13 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • User Avatar Image
    DjNDB Moderator

Actually the game is not officially supported on Windows 8, but it works for some people, sometimes requiring workarounds.

Where did you buy the game?
    If you have bought the Xbox version, that won't work on your laptop.

• Ahh, that makes sense. I bough it from the game store. Their telling me that I had to get an Xbox live account so I thought that if I downloaded the Xbox version, it might have played. Hah, I'm really not that good with technical things

• User Avatar Image
    DjNDB Moderator

So are you good with playing it on the xbox?
    You should use xbox live there, so it can download updates.

• I don't have an xbox, so I am not quite sure what to do :(

• User Avatar Image
    DjNDB Moderator

I am a bit confused now. The disc you bought, what does it say on the cover? Is it for xbox or PC?

• No no no, I didn't buy a disk, I wanted to buy the app from the app store. Sorry for the confusion

• I was told that you could play it on Windows 8, in the app store. But the only download they had there was Xbox, so I tried to download it, thinking that if I get an Xbox live account from my computer, but of course, that didn't work out. So now I'm wondering how to even download it at all.

• User Avatar Image
    DjNDB Moderator