User Avatar Image

How have save file glitches affected your experience?

posted by stindo on - last edited - Viewed by 1.1K users

See poll

115 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • @be_prime said: As a programmer, I understand that bugs in software are going to happen regardless of the best efforts of programmers and QA staff. I'm sure Telltale isn't any happier about this than their affected customers -- they obviously care about making games, and want players to enjoy the experience.

I'm affected by the issue described elsewhere in this thread where I can't continue on to Episode 5 from my saved game. When I try and start Episode 5 it asks me if I want to generate random choices, and if I play back through the final sequence of Episode 4 from my saved game it shows Episode 5 as "Coming soon."

This is a really unfortunate bug because for me, the continuity of my choices between episodes makes me an active, emotionally invested participant in the story. Without that continuity it's like watching a pilot episode of a television show: interesting, perhaps, but flat. How much fun is a choose-your-own-adventure book if you're forced to open to a random page whenever you read the book?

My expectation is that Telltale will work to fix the issue, and that they'll review their development practices to prevent this category of issues in the future. I can wait a while to finish the series. Still, it's regrettable!

I doubt they're going to do anything about it. Sucks because i like the game, but telltale doesn't seem to give a crap about this. They made they're money.

• here's my deal I use steam too and I can't seem to get past episode 1 it looks like its saving and all but once I go back to play episode 2 it tells me do you want to go back to play here yes/no. of course there are no other games saved. As if i've played all the episodes allready.