User Avatar Image

Episode 2 black screen

posted by sullyk on - last edited - Viewed by 1.1K users

I bought the game off steam and finished episode one, but when i try to start episode 2 all i get is a black screen with the inventory slot of an axe on the side. I can move the mouse around and can hear sound but can't do anything.

29 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • User Avatar Image
    DjNDB Moderator

Renaming the savegame folder
    ~/Library/Application Support/Telltale Games/TheWalkingDead/
    should be enough.

You can then check if you can start Episode 2 with random choices to see if it helped.

• I am also using Steam and am relatively experienced with Macs (though I am no expert!). I am only able to do what Beanzilla has been able to do, and his screenshot is an identical representation of what I see in my "Steam/TheWalkingDead" folder - "TheWalkingDead.app" on it's own.

There is no prefs.prop file.

• @DjNDB said: Renaming the savegame folder
    should be enough.

You can then check if you can start Episode 2 with random choices to see if it helped.

Just to be clear, there is no save game folder and the directory quoted doesn't exist.

• User Avatar Image
    DjNDB Moderator

@Kalian said: I am also using Steam and am relatively experienced with Macs (though I am no expert!). I am only able to do what Beanzilla has been able to do, and his screenshot is an identical representation of what I see in my "Steam/TheWalkingDead" folder - "TheWalkingDead.app" on it's own.

There is no prefs.prop file.

I've checked that now. You should be able to browse the TheWalkingDead.app. Just right click (or CTRL click) on it and select "Show package contents".
    Please look for a prefs.prop in TheWalkingDead.app/Contents/Resources and its subfolders.

@Kalian said: Just to be clear, there is no save game folder and the directory quoted doesn't exist.

That's odd. I haven't seen anyone with a different savegame folder location.