Originally Posted by tredlow
Did you know that there are vegetarian cheese? How do they make it?
Non-vegetarian cheese is made with rennet, which comes from calves' stomachs. Just explaining because a lot of people are confused by the idea of "vegetarian cheese", thinking that all cheese is vegetarian. Cheeses that don't use rennet use either microbial enzyme or fungus as a starter, if I'm not mistaken.
Vegan cheese is another story. Most soy cheeses do have some milk ingredients in them and are more targeted towards the lactose intolerant than towards vegan people.
Then you have "uncheese", which is what I have since I can't have milk. Most of that is home-made. For instance for a fake parmesan you use sesame seeds, nutritional yeast and miso and ground the whole thing together. I call that parmiso. It's pretty tasty.